<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>theinternetmarketer.com.au &#187; Domain scams</title>
	<atom:link href="http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/category/domain-scams/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://theinternetmarketer.com.au</link>
	<description>Internet marketing commentary from Adelaide, Australia</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 11 Aug 2010 06:05:59 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>It persists. Is this a domain scam or not?</title>
		<link>http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/02/it-persists-is-this-a-domain-scam-or-not/</link>
		<comments>http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/02/it-persists-is-this-a-domain-scam-or-not/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 23 Feb 2010 01:00:41 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Pete</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Domain scams]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/?p=519</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Recently I received another official looking letter notifying me that the succinctideas.net.au domain is available and if I pay for it before a deadline I get a free iPod shuffle. Sound familiar? You may have read this here in Sept 09 Do I need this domain? It is really superfluous to my needs. I already [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2009/09/a-domain-scam-or-not-you-decide/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: A domain scam or not ? You decide!'>A domain scam or not ? You decide!</a> <small>Is an Aussie company is trying to scam you into...</small></li>
<li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/04/april-fool-adwords-scam/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: April fool? No an AdWords scam!'>April fool? No an AdWords scam!</a> <small>Happy Easter to all, Don&#8217;t fall victim to this April...</small></li>
</ol>

Related posts brought to you by <a href='http://mitcho.com/code/yarpp/'>Yet Another Related Posts Plugin</a>.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Recently I received another official looking letter notifying me that the succinctideas.net.au domain is available and if I pay for it before a deadline I get a free iPod shuffle.</p>
<p>Sound familiar? You may have read this <a href="http://www.theinternetmarketer.com.au/2009/09/a-domain-scam-or-not-you-decide/">here in Sept 09</a></p>
<p><strong>Do I need this domain?</strong><br />
It is really superfluous to my needs. I already have a domain and if someone (a competitor?) decided they would try to steal some potential clients by creating an online facsimilie of my site. If they did I could take the matter up with AuDA</p>
<p><strong>The price </strong><br />
At just $245 many businesses I’m sure would think this is a reasonable offer, however $60 is about the going ‘street price’ for .au domains so its not really a bargain at all&#8230;</p>
<p>Note sure if your domain renewal is legit ?<br />
The ACCC has information on <a href="http://www.auda.org.au/registrars/accredited-registrars/">domain name scams</a> and as always Google is a great information source</p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2009/09/a-domain-scam-or-not-you-decide/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: A domain scam or not ? You decide!'>A domain scam or not ? You decide!</a> <small>Is an Aussie company is trying to scam you into...</small></li>
<li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/04/april-fool-adwords-scam/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: April fool? No an AdWords scam!'>April fool? No an AdWords scam!</a> <small>Happy Easter to all, Don&#8217;t fall victim to this April...</small></li>
</ol></p>
<p>Related posts brought to you by <a href='http://mitcho.com/code/yarpp/'>Yet Another Related Posts Plugin</a>.</p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/02/it-persists-is-this-a-domain-scam-or-not/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>A domain scam or not ? You decide!</title>
		<link>http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2009/09/a-domain-scam-or-not-you-decide/</link>
		<comments>http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2009/09/a-domain-scam-or-not-you-decide/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 09 Sep 2009 00:29:16 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Pete</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Domain scams]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/?p=445</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Is an Aussie company is trying to scam you into paying a super-premium for superfluous  domains ?


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/02/it-persists-is-this-a-domain-scam-or-not/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: It persists. Is this a domain scam or not?'>It persists. Is this a domain scam or not?</a> <small>Recently I received another official looking letter notifying me that...</small></li>
<li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/04/april-fool-adwords-scam/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: April fool? No an AdWords scam!'>April fool? No an AdWords scam!</a> <small>Happy Easter to all, Don&#8217;t fall victim to this April...</small></li>
</ol>

Related posts brought to you by <a href='http://mitcho.com/code/yarpp/'>Yet Another Related Posts Plugin</a>.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I’m regularly contacted by concerned clients who have received website domain renewals, many of which are bogus and pray on businesses’ internet naivety.</p>
<p>So far these have stemmed from <a href="http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2008/08/asian-domain-scam/">outside Australia</a>, but I was very disappointed indeed to see an Australian business running what appears to be domain scam recently.</p>
<p>My client received an official looking letter that offers to register a domain similar to their website domain. The renewal fee of $ 245 inc GST even offers a free iPod Shuffle.</p>
<p>This sounds like a great deal! But is it?</p>
<p><strong>They don&#8217;t need it</strong><br />
The domain is superfluous to my client’s business needs so there is no point in them buying it at all.</p>
<p><strong>Wow! Check the price!</strong><br />
You can self-register an Australian domain at around $ 60 for 2 year registration<br />
Even the premium domain registrars only charge $140 per two years<br />
You can currently buy a iPod Shuffle 1 Gig in Australia for $65</p>
<p>Not such a bargain after all is it ?</p>
<p>So if you receive a domain offer you check it carefully</p>
<p>Assuming an Australia domain is involved (ie .com.au etc) check the Australian Domain name Administrator to confirm if this business is indeed an accredited registrar <a href="http://www.auda.org.au/registrars/accredited-registrars/">www.auda.org.au/registrars/accredited-registrars/</a></p>
<p>The Code of Practice explicitly forbids solicitations for business so you wont receive these types of offers from a legitimate, certified domain registrar.</p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/02/it-persists-is-this-a-domain-scam-or-not/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: It persists. Is this a domain scam or not?'>It persists. Is this a domain scam or not?</a> <small>Recently I received another official looking letter notifying me that...</small></li>
<li><a href='http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2010/04/april-fool-adwords-scam/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: April fool? No an AdWords scam!'>April fool? No an AdWords scam!</a> <small>Happy Easter to all, Don&#8217;t fall victim to this April...</small></li>
</ol></p>
<p>Related posts brought to you by <a href='http://mitcho.com/code/yarpp/'>Yet Another Related Posts Plugin</a>.</p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://theinternetmarketer.com.au/2009/09/a-domain-scam-or-not-you-decide/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
