Asian domain scam ?

by Pete on August 1, 2008

Recently a client queried an email claiming to alert them that another party was trying to register ‘their’ internet domain in Asia.

See email 1 below (Client information removed for privacy)

On face value this appears to be a valuable service, and the administrator’s initial response was of interest, and they referred it to me for a second opinion.

As this client was actively involved in business in Asia they rightly felt this may be an important piece of information for their Asian online presence.

On reading the email I was suspicious (aren’t you ?!) but the website appears as a legitimate Asian domain registrar, and they are not asking for money – not at that stage anyway.

After further discussions the client decided there was no need to acquire the Asian domains and that was that… or so I thought

More recently I’ve received a similar email (see email 2 below) from another client, again allegedly from an Asian domain registrar providing helpful information about a potential domain conflict.

You could image that the disputed domain purchase would then escalate into an auction, facilitated by the helpful registrar and the client would ultimately purchase an unneeded Asian domain, and after paying far more than the standard domain fee.

Am I being paranoid in thinking this is a scam ? I don’t think so!

What do you think ?

Kim Yang or  Tom Xiang are more than welcome to comment also

Cheers
Pete


Email 1 (client identifying information removed)

Subject: Urgent- Dispute of Asia/ China Domains with your entity

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to the right person/department. Thank you)

Dear CEO,

We , a registration organization in China, have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on today. One company called “Spond Investment Corporation” is applying for “<client’s domain> as internet brand and following Asian/.CN domain names to use.

<client’s domain>.asia
<client’s domain>.com.tw
<client’s domain>.hk

<client’s domain>.net.cn
<client’s domain>.org.cn
<client’s domain>.tw

After our initial checking, we found the internet brand and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 7 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application  submitted by “Spond Investment Corporation” unconditionally.

Best Regards,

Tom Xiang

Senior Director

Tel:  +0086-21-2973-1795

Fax: +0086-21-5271-5978

http://www.meep-china.cn/

2008-07-17

Email 2 (client identifying information removed)

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are Beijing Anwins Network Service Co., Ltd which is the domain name register center in China. We received a formal application from a company who is applying to register “<client’s company name>” as their domain name and Internet keyword on July 29, 2008.Since after our investigation we found that this word has been in use by your company, and this may involve your company name or trade mark, so we inform you in no time. If you consider these domain names and internet keyword are important to you and it is necessary to protect them by registering them first, contact us soon. Thanks for your co-operation and support.

Kind Regards,

Kim Yang

Tel:+86-10-62961631(ext.8013)

Fax:+86-10-62968871

Email: kim.yang@beijing-anwins.cn

Kim.yang@beijing-anwins.com.cn

Beijing Anwins Network Service Co.,Ltd

Website: www.anwins.com

This post was written by

Pete – who has written posts on The Internet Marketer.
Peter Cornish has an extensive background in technical IT roles; as well as over 15 years of experience in sales and marketing roles. Peter is a Web Marketing author; trainer and also provides web sales mentoring for startup businesses. More...

Email  • Google +

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

daanos April 16, 2009 at 11:50 am

Hi Pete,

You are NOT being paranoid. I received almost identical emails this week and I rang the ACCC and they advised it is definitely a scam.

You are not required to tregister internet keywords it’s just their way of getting you pay money for something that you may or may not own.

Website I came across that takls about the scam

http://www.cazazz.com/resources/Articles/Domainnamescamsandspammers.aspx

daanos April 16, 2009 at 11:50 am

PS they did ask me for money to buy the internet keywords that related to my business!

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: